CAF Awards 2023: Oshoala, Kgatlana, Banda Battle For Women’s Player Of The Year

Posted by Timige, On 7 Dec, 2023 | Updated On 7 Dec, 2023 No Comments »


Asisat Oshoala has made the final shortlist for the 2023 CAF Women’s Player of the Year.

Oshoala won the prestigious award for a record fifth time in 2022.

The Barcelona Femeni forward is firm favourites to win the individual accolade for a record extending sixth time.

The 27-year-old played a key role in Barcelona’s UEFA Women’s Champions League success last season.

Oshoala also scored once in four appearances for Nigeria at the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

South Africa’s Thembi Klagtlana and Zambia’s Barbara Banda are the other players in contention for the award.

Klagtlana, who plays for American side, Racing Louisville Football Club
won the award in 2018.

Super Falcons goalkeeper Chiamaka Nnadozie also made the final shortlist for the Women’s Goalkeeper of the Year.

Another Falcons player, Deborah Abiodun is in the running for the Young Women’s Player of the Year.

The Super Falcons are also shortlisted for the National Team of the Year.

The 2023 CAF Awards Gala will hold on Monday, December 11 at the
Palais des Congrès, Movenpick, Marrakech, Morocco.

Copyright © 2023 All rights reserved. The information contained in may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of

Source: Complete Sport

Do you have question or opinion about this post? Make it in the comment below.

Please Share with Your Friends/Followers

Get Current with Nigeria, Subscribe Now!

We'll never share your email with anyone else.

  • This Nigeria World Post is Tagged with:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.